True Friendships…


From the time we are young until now, when we grow older such as myself, we find that we all need good friends. Years ago I had many friends. After I began dating my boyfriend he gave me an ultimatum. He didn’t like some of my friends so it was either them or him. Listen ladies and guys….if you happen to be dating someone like this drop them like a bad habit because years from now you will certainly regret giving up those who truly made you feel good about yourself and made you laugh until you cried. It’s been 28 years since I married my boyfriend and now I am divorced! I make the rules now. I’ve been single again for nearly 14 years and I’ve certainly learned from my mistakes.

I moved back to my home town recently and even though having been gone for so long, those whom I knew back then welcomed me with open arms, invited me to social functions and embraced me with kindness. These, are true friends, yes both male and female. I realized years ago what a terrible mistake I had made, but I was living in another state and only visited what I used to call home a few times a year. How could someone miss me if they hadn’t seen me for so long? Thanks to Facebook, I managed last year to find not only family members that I’ve not seen or heard from in so long but many, many of my old highschool friends. It is utterly amazing how one webpage can change your life in a matter of days. To those whom I walked away from all those years ago to old neighbors and coworkers that I had in Michigan, New York, Ohio, Texas I say “Thank You!” …Thank you for making me feel like I never left. These are true friends.

So what exactly is a true friend? A true friend is a little more than a very good friend. A true friend will support you even if it hurts his/her own interest. A true friend will understand your motives and needs and will be with you without any analysis or criticism. A true friend will come forward to help without any request and be with us in need without showing it or expecting anything in return. With a true friend, you can be sure that you will get help to the extent possible by him/her. Nothing will remain unturned. A mother is a true friend of her children. If we share such relations with an adult we can say that we are true friends.

A true friend makes no excuses of having work or appointments or anything but will be with you whenever you need him/her. In your hour of desperation, a true friend will support you even if the whole world opposes you. A true friend is not an opportunist. A true friend means to have someone who is like mother, as I said earlier. Instead of having hundreds of good friends, if you have a true friend, treat yourself lucky. If you can also become a true friend of someone, you will be blessed, because it is much easier for all of us to expect but very difficult to give. Be a true friend yourself first.

I realized today as I was pondering what I should write about, that friendships would be the topic of discussion. You see, my mother is 69 and is having a party for old coworkers as I write. Every year they get together at her house and she caters foods in so that they can get reacquainted, talk, laugh and cry about their lives and families. I suppose when you have a role model like I did, you learn about values and what makes life so precious. I listened as my mother and her silly girlfriends joking and laughing and being all giddy. Happiness plays a big role in one’s life, so please, think about all of your friendships you’ve made along the years and if you’ve not spoken to them in some time, reach out now to say hello! You’ll be happy that you did! As for me, I truly believe that I am the woman today that is spunky, sassy, fun-loving, a real ball of fire, and quite a pistol at times…just like my mother. I had wonderful foot steps to follow in and because of the way I was raised, I learned about love and values. These things my friend are what matters most,..not how big someones house is, or what kind of car they drive, or what they made of their lives…rather what kind of person you turned out to be. I am proud of who I am, and I have much respect for myself as well as those around me.
 
Take a look in the mirror. If you don’t like who you’ve become, it might be time for a face lift, and I’m not speaking superficially, I am talking a spiritual face lift. If you are young and reading this article, please take my advice. Although I am not a professional to give advice, I can tell you this…It’s better to have friends than to not have them. Never allow your partner to make you choose. Only “YOU” can choose your friends. I’ve learned a valuable lesson, but because I am still the woman I was all those years ago, my friends treat me like I’ve never left. Grateful? You bet I am. Fortunate, Yes. Amazed, absolutely!
 
 
 
3 responses to “True Friendships…

Leave a Reply

